Eggs in the oven

keep-calm-and-make-oven-eggs

For a recent party I wanted to make a large bowl of egg-salad, and since I had to make a reasonably large batch I thought I could finally try out something I saw on Pinterest: making “hard-boiled” eggs in the oven by The Burlap Bag. As always I was eager to try because it really sounded like an easier way to get the eggs done! So with high hopes I placed 10 lovely (and slightly decorated) eggs in my mini-muffin tray ready to go into the oven.

blog 009

I stuffed them in the oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 25 minutes – in the meantime working on the many other snacks for the party (which you can read about next week). Below you can see how these eggs turned out.

blog 012

When I pulled out the tin I already noticed one egg that had cracked, as well as the brown spotting mentioned in the original post. Not a problem I thought, until I tossed them in the ice-water and came back 10 minutes later to find a lot more cracked or imploded eggs in my sink. After draining them I set them aside to peel.

blog 015

According to the post it should be so easy to peel these – even her husband wasn’t unhappy about the chore – well… he would have cried his eyes out if he had had to help me with these eggs. it took me over half an hour to get 10 eggs peeled!

“Also, people have said that the yolks are creamier when you bake them and the egg white isn’t as rubbery!”

blog 014Well… I actually tried a piece – against better judgement – and I could just as well had bitten in a rubber band… it was horrible! Besides, the colouration of these eggs after baking is just horrid and unappetising. Would you like an egg salad looking like this? I don’t think so.

I’d say this Pinterest post is busted! Which honestly is a shame – I would have loved for this to work! Any suggestions to fix this? Leave them below and I might have another shot at eggs in the oven.

Leave a Reply

